Parameswara Vinnagaram

One of the 108 Temples & Celestial Abodes of Vishnu revered by the Tamil hymns of the Alwars of the 1st millennium CE

Location: Kanchipuram (Tondai Naadu)
Vishnu: Vaikuntha Naathan
Taayaar: Vaikuntha Valli
Paasuram :Tirumangaialwar
Vimaanam:Mukunda Vimanam
Travel Base:Chennai, Kanchipuram
Description This Divya Desam is the celebrated Vaikuntha Perumaal Temple, built by the Pallava Emperors who also built the Kailasanathar Temple at Kanchipuram.

Deities: The Moolavar here is Vaikuntha Nathan or Paramapada Naathan in a seated posture facing west, and Taayaar here is Vaikuntha Valli in a separate shrine.

The Temple: This temple is regarded as a grand specimen of Pallava architecture. It has a  three layered Ashtanga Vimanam. The lowermost level enshrines the seated image of Vishnu, while the ones above enshrine Vishnu in reclining and standing postures respectively. The images in the upper levels are not worshipped. (This is similar to the arrangement in the Koodalazhagar temple at Madurai).  This temple was constructed by Nandi Varma Pallavan II (717-779 CE) and it covers an area of about 3 acres. This is an ancient Pallava temple; the monolithic pillars in the inner prakaram are noteworthy.

Legend has it that the Dwarapalakas of Vishnu were reborn as the children of the king of Vidarbha - Villavan and Pallavan. These Princes, are said to have performed the Aswamedha sacrifice here, and Vishnu is said to have appeared in front of them in answer to their prayers.

Ramanujacharya and Manavaalamaamuni are said to have visited this shrine.

Festivals:: Two worship services are offered each day. The annual Bhramotsavam is celebrated in the month of Vaikasi as in the Varadarajaswamy Temple , and Vaikuntha Ekadasi is celebrated in the month of Markazhi.

The Divya Desams revered by the Alwars in Vishnu Kanchi are Attigiri (the vast Varadaraja Perumal temple), Ashtabuyakaram, Tiruttankaa, Tiruvelukkai and Tiruvegkaa, while those in Shiva  Kanchi are Tiru Oorakam (Ulagalanda Perumaal Koyil) , Tiru Neeragam, Tiruppaatakam, Nilaattingal Tundam, Tirukkaaragam, Tirukkaarvaanam, Tirukkalvanur, Tiruppavalavannam and Parameswara Vinnagaram. The vast Ekambreswarar temple(Prithvi Stalam)  revered by the Tevaram hymns, is located in Periya (Shiva) Kanchi, as are the Kamakshiamman and the Kumara Kottam temples.

Abodes of Vishnu          Templenet Homepage     108 Divya Desam Index